THE STIRLING PRIZE – The Property Chronicle
Select your region of interest:

Real estate, alternative real assets and other diversions

THE STIRLING PRIZE A look at how the 'Oscars of Architecture' actually works

The Architect

The RIBA (Royal Institute of British Architects) Stirling Prize, named after the renowned architect James Stirling, was introduced in 1996 and is presented to “the architects of the UK building that has made the greatest contribution to the evolution of architecture in the past year.” It is the architectural equivalent of the Booker Prize for literature and Turner Prize for visual arts, but currently carries no prize money.

With the announcement last month of Norman Foster’s Bloomberg’s European Headquarters as the winner of the 2018 Stirling Prize came the inevitable grumpy commentary from certain quarters the architectural fraternity; much of it predictably tinged with green due to the extravagant brief and generous budget – and therefore high fees.

Just to be clear, Stirling is not a one-off prize; rather it is the culmination of a nine month journey which begins in January each year and culminates in this announcement in October. At the same ceremony, awards such as the Stephen Lawrence Prize and House of the Year are also revealed.

The process is this: final calls for entry are made in February by RIBA for any project completed within the past three years. This is not necessarily a new ‘building’ as conversions and bridges have gone all the way to be Stirling winners before. In normal circumstances it is the architectural firm who submits the project, but occasionally the client might nominate – which always sends its own message. The nominations are regionalised fairly logically into 12 ‘English Regional and National Offices’ and a fresh regional jury of four is put together each year by the respective RIBA Regional Representative. A Chair of the jury is nominated, who must be an architect without a project submitted for that particular region, but other members of the panel may include a landscape architect, an urban designer, a conservation advisor and, always, a local architect and a lay assessor. This person is sometimes from the construction industry, but never an architect.

Entries are first assessed by drawings, photographs and a written description. The judging criteria for the RIBA Awards is wide-ranging and leads to a refreshingly broad church of projects: capacity to stimulate, engage or delight its occupants, visitors and passers-by; architectural and conceptual ambition; environmental and economic sustainability; generous contribution to the public realm or environment; extent of innovation, invention or originality; use of materials and the rigour with which it is detailed; ability to inspire and endure as an exemplary work of architecture.

The Architect

About Richard Rose-Casemore

Richard Rose-Casemore

Richard Rose-Casemore is a practitioner and an academic. Having worked for some of the leading practices in the UK, he co-founded Design Engine Architects in 2000, and enjoys working in all sectors and at all scales, from masterplanning to interior design, with architecture at the centre. He has been the recipient of numerous national and international awards during 25 years of practice, and received the Stephen Lawrence Prize for his own house. Richard has travelled widely in his teaching and practice, and worked in South Africa for a year as an undergraduate. He has a particular passion for teaching and led a Masters studio at Oxford Brookes University School of Architecture between 1995 and 2010. He continues to act as a visiting critic and external examiner at various UK Schools. Richard is currently a Fellow of Royal Society of Arts, a Fellow of Oxford Brookes University, an Academician of Urbanism, a Member of the Chartered Society of Designers, and sits on the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Validation Board. He was a CABE Representative for five years and now chairs or sits on various Design Review Panels and the Higher Education Design Quality Forum (HEDQF).

Articles by Richard Rose-Casemore

Subscribe to our magazine now!